AP McCoy

“As a jump jockey, I have to be completely satisfied that my helmet will protect me to the highest level. I choose Charles Owen because they put rider safety first.”


2010 Grand National winner
Champion Jockey 1995 – 2011
Winner of over 3,000 races

Notable Horses

Restless D’Artaix, Don’t Push It



Seven-time Champion Jockey

Sir Anthony Peter McCoy, OBE, known to the racing world as AP McCoy, was born on 4 May, 1974.

Over the course of his career, he rode 4,358 winners and was named Champion Jockey 20 consecutive times.

AP McCoy launched his career in 1992, winning his first race at age 17. During his first racing season in Britain, he was an apprentice for trainer Toby Balding and earned the Conditional Jump Jockeys Title with 74 winners.

By April 2002, he had ridden more winners in a season than anyone else in history, shattering the record set by the great Sir Gordon Richards fifty-five years earlier.

Just four months later, he rode his 1,700th winner to beat Richard Dunwoody’s career record and become the greatest jump jockey in history. In 2006, McCoy was the first jump jockey to have ridden 2500 winners and by 2013, he had secured his 4,000th win. 

AP McCoy won the 2010 Grand National on Don’t Push It, and has also won the Cheltenham Gold Cup, Champion Hurdle, Queen Mother Champion Chase and King George VI Chase. He was named the BBC Sports Personality of the Year in 2010 and the RTE Sports Person of the Year in 2013. He was knighted in January 2016.

AP McCoy has always ridden in a class of his own in a sport where he risks serious injury every time he participates. In the 2000/2001 season he told no one but his physio that his ankle was broken in two places. He just strapped it up and carried on winning.

Together with trainer Martin Pipe, AP McCoy has changed the face of jump racing. His legacy continues in the sport and with Charles Owen, as the APM II he collaborated to design remains one of our most popular racing skulls.

AP McCoy’s helmet of choice